Granny pyjamas?

Hello everyone! I know, I’m a horrible, horrible person because i haven’t posted anything in a whole month. I feel terrible. Trust me, I haven’t forgotten about this blog at all because I always think, ‘that would be good to write on my blog’ or ‘I should tell everyone about what just happened on my blog.’ I just never actually end up writing it! I think you jut get so caught up in life, that you forget to do some of the things that make you the happiest. And this blog is honestly one of the best things I have. So I am so sorry that I haven’t been around lately, I promise you that will change!

So today I want to talk to you about a very embarrassing and uh… interesting experience I had lately. Every year, at my school, we have this competition when people of about groups of twenty have to do a perfromace and sing a song in front of the whole school. And then the teachers that are the judges, decides who wins. I have done it every year since i’ve been in high school and it is such a great experience! Although, many people say that it’s only for losers and its ‘not cool’ to do it. But I still do it anyway because I want to get involved and enjoy my high school experience as much as I can!

So of course this year I signed up and my group leaders decided that we were doing the song Bad Blood by Taylor Swift… But with a slight twist. Basically, it was set in an old peoples retirement home and it was all about us bickering with each other. It was a hilarious idea. So we practiced it for weeks but then came the day I realised that I would hvae to wear old peoples clothes in fron of the whole entire school! I tried to not let it worry me too much, but you have to admit, I was pretty much commtting social suicide. So I asked my mum for some help with choosing out a costume and she said I can wear some floral pyjamas that looked like a grandma would wear with my pink dressing gown that I have had since forever. So I thought that would be a pretty good costume and I actually loked like an old lady when I tried it on.

The performance day came and I was ready… but kind of nervous that I was going to be dressed a a granny in front of th whole school. Goodbye to any possible guy I could date… Goodbye to people thinking I was normal…

But before the performance, I realised that other peoples thoughts didn’t matter! I am going to go out there, try my best and own my granny pyjamas! That’s exactly what I did. Of course i heard a lot of laughter and whispering but I still went out there, gave it my very best shot and I was proud to be standing in front of the whole school in granny pyajams. The performance went smoothly except when I fell over back stage and held everyone else up… But something like that was bound to happen to me, I;m just glad it wasn’t worse. Afterwards, while we were waiting for the results, I was excited to find out if we were going to win. I actually thought we had a really good chance.

So then, they announced the winner and it was… US! We were so happy that all of our hard work and sacrificed lunch times for rehearsals was worth it! Once again, I ran up onto the stage with my granny pjs still on along with everyone else and received our award! All I can say is that embarrassing myself was totally worth it.

So to all of you… Please don’t be afraid to do something in high school or anywhere else just becase of what other people think. If you enjoy doing it, then do it! Because in the end we will look back on these memories when we made a fool out of ourselves and be proud of them! So when an opportunity comes up, ask yourself, what would I regret more? Doing this or not doing this? The choice is yours.

Stay lovely,

Just a girl with no clue, is logging off xx

7 comments

  1. everywordyousay · September 4, 2015

    This is so cute, good for you!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. just a girl with no clue · September 4, 2015

    Aww thank you so much! xx

    Like

  3. Emma · September 4, 2015

    I loved this story! Congratulations for winning and thanks for sharing such a lovely message. 🙂 xx

    Liked by 1 person

  4. UnfashionableCupcake · September 8, 2015

    Wow that’s amazing! I don’t know whether I would have the courage to do that! Congratulations xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment